Most of the timber work had been covered in plaster or hidden under ivy.
The old great hall which occupied most of the building and open to the roof had been divided off to create two stories, with the lower floor given over to three entertaining rooms.
They had adhered to the old faith and been persecuted during the reign of the first Elizabeth.
The family continued to live at the Hall until the last died in 1773 and the estate was sold to the Egerton’s twelve years later.
According to various observers Cunliffe Brooks was keen not only to preserve the building but to share his love of the hall.
This interest never appeared to have left him and led Mrs C Williamson to write in her Recollections of Fallowfield, that his “love for old things is so great that every relic is sacred to him, and even mindful alterations are made in such close imitation of old, they look the real thing.”
This was a passion which was to lead him to display a piece of the original timber which had been exposed after a fire in 1879,and own Chorlton historian may well have been speaking from firsthand experience when he advised that “Mrs Brook’s morning room is worthy of a visit, with its quaint old china, and the vestibule containing some fine old Furniture and an engraving of Wellington with his autograph.”
Picture; Barlow Hall from the collection of Rita Bishop, the Lloyd collection in the 19th century and Andrew Robertson, 2014